Council Members


The Honorable Cathy Townsend
St. Lucie County

Douglas Bournique
Gubernatorial Appointee
Indian River County

The Honorable Doug Smith
Martin County

Council Member Orientation Materials

Council Orientation Materials are updated annually and provided to all new council members. The materials include information about Treasure Coast Regional Planning Council and Florida Regional Planning Councils.

The 28-member governing board of the Council consists of 19 local elected officials, (with nine representing counties, and ten representing municipalities) and nine members appointed by the Governor.  The Council began in 1976 with 15 members. Two years later the Legislature required one-third of a regional planning council’s membership to be appointed by the governor.  As a result, 8 members were added bringing the total membership to 23.  In 1995, membership expanded to 27 by adding one governor’s appointment and one municipal member from St. Lucie County, and one more municipal member from Palm Beach County.  In 1998, one more municipal member was added in Indian River County bringing total membership to 28.